We’re thrilled to celebrate another year of scientific excellence and innovation

Technology has always played a crucial role in scientific research and development, but in recent years, it has become an even more essential tool. From artificial intelligence to virtual reality, technology is pushing the boundaries of what we can achieve and enabling us to explore new frontiers.

This year’s Kudos Awards will celebrate the educators, scientists, and innovators who are embracing technology and using it to advance our understanding of the world around us. We can’t wait to see the amazing things that they’ve accomplished!


The Kudos Science Excellence Awards recognise 8 categories. These will apply broadly to all science disciplines and sectors including, primary industries, medical, engineering, environmental and education.

Science Teacher / Educator / Communicator Award
Hamilton City Council Emerging Scientist Award
Hill Laboratories Primary Industries Award
The Kudos Science & Technology Award
Waikato Regional Council Environmental Science Award
Te Whatu Ora Waikato Medical Science Award
University of Waikato Vision Mātauranga Science Award
The Kudos Lifetime Achievement Award

Important dates for 2023

Entries open:
Entries now open

Entries close:
July 7 2023

Entry assessment:

Finalists announced:
End of July

Finalist visits:

Awards Gala Dinner:
September 21 2023

The Kudos Process


Our panel of expert judges will review each entry to decide up to three finalists for each category. They will select the category winner from these three finalists. Each panel consists of 1 judge convener and 2-3 expert panellists. Judges are appointed by the Kudos Science Trust from a group of scientist experts in their fields.


We pride ourselves on sharing our finalists’ stories, celebrating their discoveries and acknowledge their research and hard work. If chosen as a finalist, we will require a day of your time to create a short film highlighting your story which will be shown at our Gala Dinner and hosted on our website as a part of the Scientist Gallery.


Finalists are invited to our Kudos Awards Gala dinner to celebrate their success and showcase their work to the science community. Our 2023 black-tie ceremony is hosted at Claudelands Event Centre. Together with our sponsors, we have awarded over $450,000 in prize money funding future research and breakthroughs.

Do you know a scientist worthy of recognition?

Nominate them for one of our categories today. All nominations must be received by midnight Friday 7 July.

Download the necessary form, then upload it with your submission.

Past Awards Gala Photos

The KUDOS AWARDS 2020 Photo Gallery: https://tinyurl.com/KuDos-Awards-2020

The KUDOS AWARDS 2019 Photo Gallery: https://tinyurl.com/KuDos2019-Photos