The Datamars Engineering Science Award

This award recognises excellence in engineering science by a Waikato-based individual or Waikato-led team.
For this award engineering science is defined as the application of scientific analysis to engineering practices. This may be in any engineering field, including civil, chemical, mechanical, metallurgical, electrical and electronic, agricultural and biomedical.
The impact of science on the delivery of an outcome is critical for this award. This could be in manufacturing, process or service delivery.


  • The individual must have been based principally in the Waikato region (defined as the area in and around the Waikato river catchment) The engineering science can be in delivering an outcome in the form of a product, process, service or application.
  • The contribution must be in the application of scientific analysis aimed at engineering practices.
  • A significant improvement in practice shall be proven.
  • That improvement can be in productivity, efficiency, quality or innovation.
  • Ability of the individual to communicate the contribution to a wide (lay) audience.
  • The cash award must be spent in such a way to further advance engineering science in the Waikato (e.g., paying to bring in an overseas expert, attending an international conference, visiting overseas research organisations, up skilling in a certain area, etc.) and the winner must provide a letter to the Trust within 12 months of receipt of the award, detailing how the award was used.
  • The award will be paid to the individual, unless otherwise agreed between the winner and the Hamilton Science Awards Trust.


  • The nominee can be an individual or a team.
  • The nominee must have performed or directed the work underpinning the innovation.
  • The nominee must have recognised qualifications relative to the award being sought.
  • A relevant qualification is required.
  • The recipient must agree to give a nominated lecture or presentation to a high school or general audience, if requested.
  • The recipient must be prepared to interact with appropriate news media to publicise the research on which the award is based and science in general.
  • The winner does not have to be a New Zealand citizen or resident.
  • While previous years’ outright winners in this award category are encouraged to reapply, they cannot put forward the same piece of work in support of this year’s award.
  • Previous runners-up in this award category are encouraged to reapply and may re-submit a piece of work already submitted for consideration in past years.
  • The nominee can be self-nominated or nominated by another party who is familiar with the engineer’s work.
  • If the engineer is being nominated by another party, that party must be confident all eligibility criteria can be met, including the nominee’s or team’s willingness to be available for public and media interaction as per the above.

Make a Nomination

Download the necessary form, then upload with your submission

Submit a Nomination

Nominee's Info

WINTEC Secondary Science Teacher/Educator AwardHill Laboratories Laboratory Technologist AwardHamilton City Council ICT AwardKudos Science Trust Food & Ag Science AwardDatamars Engineering Science AwardWaikato Regional Council Environmental Science AwardWaikato DHB Medical Science AwardThe University of Waikato Lifetime Achievement Award

Employment Information

Nominator's Info (If different to nominee)